Asparagus bhaji with curried hollandaise, raisin puree, toasted almonds and chilli chutney

img_1191

Seasonality is like The Shawshank Redemption – a bit overrated in my view. There I’ve said it. Foodies of the world recoil in horror. Generally I don’t care too much when or where my food was grown, picked, raised, slaughtered. I wish I did. I know all food lovers are supposed to. But I’m a greedy hypocrite and I’ll eat anything, anywhere at any time. The Gods of Provenance may send me straight to hell, but get over it Jersey.. they’re just potatoes.

img_1192

And hey if I want to eat blueberries or Asian pears that have travelled half way round the world with the carbon footprint of a walking redwood tree, then that’s my evolved right.

img_1194

That said the one thing you might as well have only nowish every year is asparagus. Unless you want to eat that stringy dry stuff from Peru in mid-December.

img_1195

The good stuff is pretty special. British, chunky and flavourful. Fat spears of greenness. Distinct and delicate. Only an idiot would take such a great ingredient and batter, spice ‘n’ deep fry it. Yep that’s me.

img_1200

So I used gram flour, salt, pepper and water to make a claggy bhaji batter.

img_1201

Then I mixed curry powder and lemon juice with hollandaise. And dolloped on raisin puree for extra tang, along with flaked almonds and chilli chutney for an extra kick. Seriously seasonal!

img_1202

Ingredients: asparagus, gram flour, water, salt, pepper, curry powder, hollandaise, lemon, raisins, almonds, chilli chutney

img_1205

2 comments

  1. chefkreso · March 14

    Have to save the recipe! 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

