Tomato and mozzarella tarte tatin with basil ice cream

I once worked with a guy who used to assert that various vegetables were in fact fruit. Whip out some cucumber for lunch, that’s actually a fruit he’d say. Strips of red pepper in my salad, fruit again he’d cry. Try to sneak out a tomato, FROOOOOT!!

img_0817img_0819

Well I’m not buying it. I don’t care about the technicalities. It smells like a vegetable. It eats like a vegetable. Reason and good sense tells me it’s a big fat vegetable!

img_0821

Anyway, one of the best things I’ve ever eaten is a classic tarte tatin served with a refreshing yet suspiciously unnaturally bright green apple sorbet at a homely little bistro in Nice.

img_0822

I figured tomatoes would work well in a tarte tatin as they balance sweetness and acidity, just like apples. So here’s a tomato tarte tatin complete with naturally green basil ice cream.

img_0823

In a pan I created a hot puddle of balsamic, butter and sugar for my tomatoes to sizzle in for a while.

img_0825img_0827

Then I draped over chunks of mozzarella and dollops of tomato chutney, before tucking under a blanket of puff pastry and sticking in the oven.

img_0830

I served with a simple ice cream made with frozen custard whizzed up with basil.

img_0835

Classic caprese flavours of ripe tomatoes, dreamy mozzarella and fragrant basil turned crispy sticky (vegetable) tart.

img_0836

Ingredients: tomatoes, mozzarella, tomato chutney, puff pastry, butter, sugar, balsamic vinegar, basil, custard

Leave a Reply

