‘Deep pan’ Italian sausage hollowed-out boule pizza

When it comes to pizza I’m not fussy. Gourmet stonebaked sourdough margherita; cheap supermarket thin and crispy; overloaded messy meat feast – it’s all comforting cheesy hot bread at the end of the day. Going to Deep Pan Pizza Company or Pizza Hut was quite a family treat back in the day. Hence I’ve been brought up to accept thick greasy pizza pies as a good thing. And as a bonus I developed the ability to cram and stack raw vegetable items into a small bowl – a skill prized by regular salad bar visitors.

IMG_9616IMG_9618

Once again pizza is becoming a frequent family option, especially now my son thinks Ninja Turtles model good eating habits. Sometimes I make my own dough, but more often than not I can’t be bothered.

IMG_9625IMG_9631

Over the years there isn’t a bread-like product I haven’t tried using as a ready made pizza base. This time, to achieve that deep dish quality, I hollowed out the bottom inch or so of a circular loaf of bread. I poured in passata before loading up with cooked fennel-y Italian sausage, green pepper, red onion, chilli, black olives, cheese and tomatoes – a fragrant, salty, sweet, sharp, rich and spicy flavour mix-up.

Loads of toppings means longer cooking time, so I splashed the oven tray with olive oil and water to prevent a dried out biscuity finish. Finally I allowed to cool for a minute or two. It is well known fact that tomato cooked in the vicinity of cheese rises to superheated temperatures roughly equivalent to that of the earth’s core.

    IMG_9633IMG_9635

Ingredients: loaf of bread, passata, Italian sausage, green pepper, red onion, chilli, black olives, cheese, tomatoes, water, olive oil

IMG_9639

2 comments

  1. Fontana's Italian Restaurant · August 11, 2015

    One word, YUM!!!! Looks great. Will definitely be trying this out tonight when I get out of my Italian restaurant in San Jose.

    Like

    • Sung-Jin · August 24, 2015

      Thank you. If I’m ever in San Jose I’ll drop in!

      Like

Leave a Reply

